The Rock

25/1/2014 The Rock – 30kms from Wagga Wagga

Since we have returned to Wagga Wagga my daughter has been thinking it might be a nice idea to climb ‘The Rock’ and so today is the day. At least I was able to put her off from doing it in the 36 degree heat – today a mild 27 but considering the last time I did this trek I was almost 10 years younger and it was in the winter time so it won’t be easy. We get to the track at about 4pm and find out it is a 6km – 3 hour return so I now have to ring Shane and tell him that when I said “see you in a couple of hours …… well I think I won’t be home until at least 8pm”. IMG_8468
I do admit it is a nice time of the day to go on this walk/climb as after about half an hour the track is completely in shade with the afternoon sun setting on the other side of The Rock – its a good thing too as this is where the track starts to get quite steep. It is now hard slog but as we keep heading up and the trees thin out we can enjoy the views across the ranges, fields and the township of The Rock.
Reaching the top is a great feeling – we have climbed 330m and now we have 360 degree views. It is nice just to sit, rest our weary legs while enjoying the scenery and definitely in no hurry to head back down.

2 thoughts on “The Rock

    1. peakesj6 Post author

      Glad to be of assistance – it was really nice at the top. Sylvia and Greg should remember it well as they did it with me nearly 10 years ago.
      Stay tuned for our next expedition.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

